IEEE International Conference on Computer Communications
10-13 May 2021 // Virtual Conference


2021 IEEE INFOCOM Achievement Award

The IEEE INFOCOM Achievement Award is the highest honor that can be bestowed on a researcher in the INFOCOM community.  The recipient should have a body of work that has had significant impacts on the networking community in general, and INFOCOM in particular.   

Steven Low

for contributions to the theory and practice of Internet congestion control

Steven Low has pioneered the development of a mathematical theory of Internet congestion control and is the primary voice of the dual method that interprets congestion control as a gradient algorithm for maximizing the dual of network utility.  His research group invented the FAST TCP protocol. The work encompasses theory, algorithms, software implementation, and testbed, taking a mathematical idea all the way from academic research to Internet deployment on a global scale. After that, he turned his attention to emerging challenges in energy sustainability.  His work on optimal power flow problems has had a major impact on the field.  Very few people rise to the top of two very different fields, and Prof. Low is one of them. His work has been recognized with awards, including the Bennett Prize for the Best Paper published in the IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking (twice). 

An IEEE Fellow, Low is the Frank J. Gilloon Professor of Computing and Mathematical Sciences and Electrical Engineering at California Institute of Technology, USA.

2021 IEEE Koji Kobayashi Computers and Communications Award

Sponsored by NEC Corporation

Hari Balakrishnan

For broad contributions to computer networking and mobile and wireless systems

Hari Balakrishnan’s pioneering computing contributions have been instrumental in developing innovative systems for our mobile world and protocols for efficient and reliable network communications. He introduced the concept of mobile sensing with the CarTel system, acquiring and drawing accurate inferences from noisy sensors on mobile devices for transportation applications including traffic measurement, road hazards, and driver safety. His work on the Cricket system showed how to combine radio and ultrasound for precise (3–5 cm) indoor location. To improve network resilience, he co-developed distributed hash tables (Chord), resilient overlay networks, and a framework for verifiable border gateway protocol routing. His contributions to Internet congestion control include the co-development of the Congestion Manager and algorithms such as binomial control, Fastpass, Sprout, and Copa.

An IEEE Fellow, Balakrishnan is the Fujitsu Professor of Computer Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA.

2021 IEEE INFOCOM Test of Time Paper Award

The IEEE INFOCOM Test of Time Paper Award recognizes papers published between 10 to 12 years ago (a three-year window) in the INFOCOM proceedings that have been most cited and widely recognized to have a significant impact on the research community.  For 2021, papers published in 2009 – 2011 INFOCOM proceedings are eligible. 

For 2021, the award committee has selected the following paper for this award:

Improving the Scalability of Data Center Networks with Traffic-aware Virtual Machine Placement," in Proc. of IEEE INFOCOM 2010 Xiaoqiao Meng, Vasileios Pappas, and Li Zhang

Class of 2021 IEEE Fellows

Tarek Abdelzaher
for contributions to cyber-physical systems and real-time computing
Wonjun Lee
for contributions to multiple access and resource allocation in wireless networks
Ai-Chun Pang
for contributions to resource management and service provisioning for mobile edge networks
Chiara Petrioli
for contributions to wireless and underwater networks 
Dario Pompili
for contributions to underwater acoustic communication networks
My Thai
for contributions to modeling, design, and optimization of networked systems
Cong Wang
for contributions to security of cloud storage and computation
Honggang Wang
for contributions to low power wireless for IoT and multimedia applications
Dong Xuan
for contributions to connected coverage in wireless networks


IEEE INFOCOM 2021 Best Paper Awards

Uplink Multi-User Beamforming on Single RF Chain mmWave WLANs
Keerthi Priya Dasala (Rice University, USA), Josep M Jornet (Northeastern University, USA) and Edward W. Knightly (Rice University, USA)

mCore: Achieving Sub-millisecond Scheduling for 5G MU-MIMO Systems
Yongce Chen, Yubo Wu, Thomas Hou and Wenjing Lou (Virginia Tech, USA)

Exploiting Simultaneous Communications to Accelerate Data Parallel Distributed Deep Learning
Shaohuai Shi (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong), Xiaowen Chu (Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong) and Bo Li (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong)

IEEE INFOCOM 2021 Best Poster Award

Optimal Peak-Minimizing Online Algorithms for Large-Load Users with Energy Storage
Yanfang Mo (City University of Hong Kong, China); Qiulin Lin (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, China); Minghua Chen (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong); S. Joe Qin (CityU, China)

IEEE INFOCOM 2021 Best Demo Award

A Core-Stateless L4S Scheduler for P4-enabled hardware switches with emulated HQoS
Ferenc Fejes (ELTE Eötvös Loránd University, Hungary); Szilveszter Nádas (Ericsson Research, Hungary); Gergo Gombos (ELTE Eötvös Loránd University, Hungary); Sándor Laki (Eötvös Loránd University, Hungary)


Student Travel Grant Sponsors